Thy Kingdom Come, In Whosoever

One day, the Fundamentalists challenged the Rabbi, and said “When can we expect to see this Kingdom of God you keep talking about?”

And the Rabbi said “you don’t get it, do you?  The Kingdom of God doesn’t work that way.  You can’t see it, won’t be able to say ‘ah, here it is.’  No.

“The Kingdom of God is within you.”

These are the words of my Master.  Thy will be done, here on this highway.  His Kingdom extends as far as we decide to make it extend, as far as our actions cause His will to be done on Earth as it is in Heaven.

Becoming aware of this truth, can one help but feel convicted?  I have failed in my responsibilities as a Follower of the Way.  I’ve failed, so many times, to even try expanding the Kingdom of Heaven around me.

One Response to “Thy Kingdom Come, In Whosoever”

  1. From my experience-(and I realize you probably already know all this)

    Guilt is a trap, a fatal motivational detour. Its easy to get sidetracked in most forms of Christianity into thinking that you’ve failed, and it can crush you if you let it.

    But Paul points out a great counter to this kind of thinking

    “If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.”

    In the end, your guilt doesn’t matter, except as you let it. Paul had *so much more* to feel guilty about. But he stressed that the only motivation that matters is love.

    Everyone’s inadequate. Paul used to go around stoning Christians. Peter denied Jesus 3 times, thought gentiles were uncool, hacked a soldier’s ear off, argued over who was the best apostle, and probably 50 other things I’m forgetting. Ditto any of the other Apostles.

    My point is, don’t beat yourself up, and don’t feel guilty because you messed up. Jesus died to *make* you not guilty. I used to do that when I was an active JW. My guilt, my failures consumed me. But the love is what matters. Love of God, love of neighbor, and what that love inspires you to do.

    The rest is just a detour off the road- an accident you stop to look at, then you never get where you want to go.

    Hope that helps some, not trying to come across as preachy. You seem to me a very loving and kind person, honest person. I hate to see a good person get down over what got me 🙂

Leave a Reply

