Things I’ve been looking at lately

I habitually leave a lot of browser tabs open non-stop, closing them only when I’m quite finished with that page.  This leads to a lot of build-up, an accumulation of Firefox clutter.  So I’m doing some cleaning, and along the way I figured I’d share some highlights with you, the possibly tens of readers who follow this blog.

Roger Ebert, the dominant film reviewer on the planet, discusses something deeply personal.  Alcoholics Anonymous gets criticized both by people who don’t like the notion of God, and those who don’t like like the notion of expanding God to include just about anything.  Ebert, who doesn’t believe in God but does believe in AA, offers an interesting perspective on this.  My main thought: I suspect the religion of the early Church may have had a lot more in common with what goes on among those desperate and hurting people in the church basement that with what we do in the sanctuary on Sunday mornings.

And now for something completely different:

What if Judith Martin were thoroughly goth?

It might look something like the Lady of the Manners, which is pretty awesome.

Mike Stimpson specializes in recreating iconic photographs in Lego form.

Shawn was nice enough to comment on my blog, so I guess I might as well get around to plugging his webcomic, Clockworks.  Steampunk!  Action!  Intrigue!  Magic!  Trenchcoats!  Goggles!  Punches to the face!  It’s good stuff.

Leave a Reply

