Happy Birthday To Me

Twenty-five years.

At the quarter-century mark, I guess it’s as good a time as any to take stock of who I am.  So, introspection ahead.

I’m an overweight guy with a beard, a ponytail, a black leather trenchcoat, three fedoras, a comic book collection and a number of RPG rulebooks.  And I’m pretty happy with that, all things considered.

I believe in one God, the Father, the Almighty, maker of heaven and earth, of all that is, seen and unseen.
I believe in one Lord, Jesus Christ, the only Son of God, eternally begotten of the Father, God from God, Light from Light, true God from true God, begotten, not made, of one Being with the Father.
Through him all things were made.
For us and for our salvation he came down from heaven: by the power of the Holy Spirit he became incarnate from the Virgin Mary, and was made man.
For our sake he was crucified under Pontius Pilate; he suffered death and was buried.
On the third day he rose again in accordance with the Scriptures; he ascended into heaven and is seated at the right hand of the Father.
He will come again in glory to judge the living and the dead, and his kingdom will have no end.
I believe in the Holy Spirit, the Lord, the giver of life, who proceeds from the Father and the Son.
With the Father and the Son he is worshiped and glorified.
H has spoken through the Prophets.
I believe in one holy catholic and apostolic Church.
I acknowledge one baptism for the forgiveness of sins.
I look for the resurrection of the dead, and the life of the world to come.
Amen.

For a surly misanthrope, I’ve got a fair number of good friends.

I’ve been to a lot of places, and seen a lot of interesting things.  I’ve read a lot of books, listened to a lot of music, and seen a lot of films.  I plan on doing more of all the above in the future, as much as I can.

I am, by nature, a pretty lazy person.  I’ve been learning to make this work for me when possible.

I’ve written two comic books that will shortly be published, and more will follow.  I’m pretty proud of them.  By this time next year, an’ God will it, I intend to have at least the first draft of a novel at hand.  With a little luck, I also hope to have sold a short story of two.

I’m getting by right now, but I really should get a better job.

I’ve learned to identify the things that give me joy (horror movies, urban legends, weird history, swords, fine tobacco, Japanese poetry, heavy metal songs based on Robert E. Howard stories, Coen Brothers movies)., and the things that do not (furniture, 90% of Shounen manga, contemporary Christian music, noisy bars, wearing ties, 90% of all romantic comedies).

Once it’s possible to fit my entire library of books, comics, movies and music onto a single laptop-sized device that hooks up to some sort of VR headset, I’ll be pretty happy to move into a tube hotel.

Now that I think about it, I’ve been very single for a depressingly long time.  You know what, I think it’s time to get back on the proverbial horse and something about that.

I really don’t have much ambition, when you get right down to it, as far as material stuff goes.  The one thing I do want is some success as a writer.  I figure if I can do as well as, say, Jim Butcher, that’d be pretty awesome.

All in all, I’m pretty happy with my life to date, and look forward to the rest of it, however long that is.  World’s a pretty cool place, and I’ve been having a swell time in it.

One Response to “Happy Birthday To Me”

  1. radiant song Says:

    A very happy 25th birthday to you, Mr Ellison.

Leave a Reply

