Robert E. Howard Monday: The Bulldog Breed

I’m not ashamed to admit I get choked up every time I read this story.  It’s about boxing, and about courage and determination, but mostly it’s about a man’s love for his dog.

And I thought, as Tom Roche rubbed my belly and mopped the blood off my smashed face, and Mike rubbed his cold, wet nose in my glove, that me and Mike was both of the same breed, and the only fighting quality we had was a everlasting persistence. You got to kill a bulldog to lick him. Persistence! How’d I ever won a fight? How’d Mike ever won a fight? By walking in on our men and never giving up, no matter how bad we was hurt! Always outclassed in everything except guts and grip!

Leave a Reply

